Five Minute Friday: Write

Letter writing girlIt sounds like a TV show, but it’s not. “So You Think You Can Write?”

It’s the sound of the voice in my head. The voice that tries to silence me, but and, more  that not, succeeds.

Shut up. Just shut up.

I’m writing now, as fast as I can. I’m writing like my hair is on fire. I’m writing for my life. I’m writing down the bones. I’m writing like it’s a sacred path, like it’s an act of worship, like I can’t stop,

And I don’t want to. It’s something in me, and it’s in you and it’s in everyone. I don’t want to silence it.

You can’t stop me, as much as you try. I’ve let you shut me up, but now it’s your turn, you nasty voice. You editorial nightmare. You bad thing. I’m not the bad thing, you are. You can’t stop me, you won’t stop me, and I’m not letting you stop me. Not any more. I’m going to write. I am writing. I am a writer.

I. Am. A. Writer.

It’s going to happen every day now. It’s going to happen. Every. Single. Day.

And you can’t stop me. No one can stop me. No one.

Especially not me. Because I’m really the only person who can stop my writing. Me. My own worst enemy.

But not any more.

*****5-minute-friday-1

What’s Five Minute Friday?

A blog-prompt project dreamt up by LisaJo Baker, which you can read about here. The basic idea is that you spend five minutes of writing, generally unedited (I correct typos, WAY too OCD not to do that), on a prompt that she provides just after ten p.m. via a tweet, then spread the word, and link up. Interested? Join up. Enjoy a delightful assortment by clicking on the picture to the right.

18 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Write

  1. So Beautiful and so true for those of us who try to write, we are our own worst enemy, when it comes to deciding what to write, but we have to just let our story flow and not let our own voices stop us from sharing our story.

    • I often find myself distracted by nonsense from writing, just to begin with. Then, I write something and think, “ugh,” that’s drivel. Enough of that. Not everything has to be like honey dripping off the pen.

  2. Most of my days are spent pushing paper – writing brief emails and memos. Typically a lot of FYI and reminder stuff. Today, however, I spent three blissful hours reading and reviewing small ($10K – $350K) scientific grant applications. I was so engaged in thinking about these grant applications and crafting critical, yet constructive comments that I completely missed one meeting and was 5 minutes late for the next one. Yet, the whole afternoon I wore a smile on my face! The upshot is that this deep thinking and carefully-crafted writing gives me an endorphin-like high unlike almost anything else. It’s a rare event, and something to be savored. I hope it is something that you experience, too. Have a good weekend, everyone!

  3. Oh, those inner editors are pesky and mean. Interestingly, this is similar to how my response came out for the prompt. Wanting to write but can’t because of the inner editor. Struggling to write no matter how bad you want to. It’s hard work being a writer, as you already know. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

    • I think we’re often worried that “no one will like my writing” when the only person that really doesn’t like it is us. I know I am, though I have never written something that literally no one liked. Ever. So enough of that. I can’t say that I’ll publish every day; I’m not sure that’s necessary. I am going to write every day, though. That much is for sure.

  4. I am so glad to see you back writing again. You have been missed. I will expect to read much more from you in the days and weeks to come.

  5. Writers write which means – you ARE a writer! I think every writer struggles with this, the weird dichotomy of the burning need to write hammered down by the inner editor telling you, you can’t. Thanks for sharing. I’m here from FMF

    • It was important to me to realize that not everything I write has to be the best thing I’ve ever written. Some days it’s just going to flow from the pen. Other days it’s not.

What do you think?

