Five Minute Friday: Mercy

MercyI don’t think I know what this means.

I mean, I think I do. Christians are supposed to know what this means. It’s one of the primary words in Christianese. It’s jargon, A word you toss around when you’re in the know.

But I don’t think I know. And I’m not sure anyone does.

When you know something, it’s because you’re familiar with it. You have an understanding of it. You’re intimate with it. Farmers know about crops and irrigation. Captains know about ships and sailing, the currents of the ocean, and its many moods. Painters know about light, and pigments. As a writer, I know about grammar, and when it’s better avoided. I know about words, and how to employ them.

But what do I know about mercy? What does anyone know about being forgiven over and over? What does any person know about living without the threat of disapproval? The constant reacceptance upon admission of failure? The endless, and I do mean endless, stream of sanctifying grace?

I’m not sure if I do.

But I want to.

*****5-minute-friday-1

What’s Five Minute Friday?

A blog-prompt project dreamt up by LisaJo Baker, which you can read about here. The basic idea is that you spend five minutes of writing, generally unedited (I correct typos, WAY too OCD not to do that), on a prompt that she provides just after ten p.m. via a tweet, then spread the word, and link up. Interested? Join up. Enjoy a delightful assortment by clicking on the picture to the right.

19 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Mercy

  1. Mercy is so hard to understand, and harder still to practice, because we want mercy when we are wrong but we want justice when we are wronged. I like that you raise the question and don’t pretend to have the answer. I want to know what mercy is, too.

    • Kathleen, you hit the nail on the head. Most people, including myself, are far more fond of justice. We want to see people being avenged. But Jesus doesn’t look at it that way. As usual, He hits us over the head with a completely different idea.

  2. Cynthia,
    You write with a style that makes the page come alive with powerful thought and emotion. There is a warmth and flow, as you paint your portrait of words, which touches me in a way best described as “being graced with the current of air rolling across an angel’s wings.”

  3. Hi Cynthia, it’s good that you are honest and don’t hide your lack of understanding , when we do this we then realize the need to ask for God’s wisdom.

    In answer to what Mercy is, when we realize just how much we have hurt God and we have all hurt Him greatly and yet He Loves us very much and continues to forgive us until we are perfected in Love, then we will understand what His Mercy is all about and have it for others.

    Like the Apostle Paul, we all need to believe we are the worst of sinners, because if we break one of the Commandments it is like we have broken them all because it shows we do not have God’s Love, this is why we need Salvation.

    If we say we haven’t sinned and so do not need Salvation, we are calling God a liar, we have all sinned and fallen short of His glory and like King David we grieve for the hurt we have inflicted on Him but give thanks for His Love which is full of Mercy and forgiveness.

    Christian Love from both of us -Anne.

      • Cynthia, I know what God’s Mercy is because I have been forgiven over and over again, we all have, we spat in Jesus’ face, we abused Him verbally and physically, we doubted who He was and what He said, we hurt Him when we hurt others or when we don’t help them, we have all sinned but even if we have sinned only once, we still caused Jesus’ death and He was innocent.

        God’s mercy is we won’t go to hell for afflicting Jesus His beloved Son and for nailing Him to the cross and without His Love within us we go on hurting Him and others….we ask and we receive and we believe we have received.

        Christian Love from both of us – Anne

  4. p.s. I did a bible study a couple of years ago that really helped me. it’s called “do you think i’m beautiful?” by angela thomas.

What do you think?

