Five Minute Friday: Comfort

Comfort: Not a One-Way Street.It’s not something I talk about regularly, but I believe in the devil.

I believe in temptation and that there is an enemy that attacks. One of his most effective techniques (especially when I’m depressed) is trying to make me believe that I’m all alone, and that no one cares. It’s patently a lie, and since Jesus said the devil was the father of lies, I guess that shouldn’t be a surprise.

It’s times like those when I need comfort.

Maybe it’s just because I’m a woman and this is how I was raised, but I have no problem comforting others. On the other hand, I’m often reluctant to ask for and receive comfort. I don’t want to be a whiner, don’t want to appear too needy, don’t want to admit I’m not self-sufficient.

That’s crap.

Blessed be God, even the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies, and the God of all comfort; Who comforteth us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort them which are in any trouble, by the comfort wherewith we ourselves are comforted of God. (2Corinthians 1:3-4, KJV)

Giving and receiving comfort are both part of the equation. If I say that I’m too big to receive comfort, then I’m also saying something about those whom I comfort. Something that’s not nice. It doesn’t work that way.

*****5-minute-friday-1

What’s Five Minute Friday?

A blog-prompt project dreamt up by LisaJo Baker, which you can read about here. The basic idea is that you spend five minutes of writing, generally unedited (I correct typos, WAY too OCD not to do that), on a prompt that she provides just after midnight via a tweet, then spread the word, and link up. Interested? Join up. Enjoy a delightful assortment by clicking on the picture to the right.

Today’s Five Minute Friday selection is also here!

Enhanced by Zemanta
12 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Comfort

  1. Oh, yes. I’ve wrestled this lie, too – and I still do. I’m learning how to be ok with needing, and you pin-pointed it so well – to say we’re not ok with receiving comfort is a form of pride and a way of saying something that’s not nice about those we comfort. Ouch. Thanks for this.

  2. So much AMEN!! In those words… why is it that we are so quick to minister to others and so slow to ministered too? I struggle with this too. And, that verse? Oh my goodness – so good, so, so good.

  3. Pingback: Five Minute Friday: Comfort | Writing Canvas

  4. Hi Cynthia, thanks for the pingback and for your honest sharing, when your disabled like I was with a condition I was born with until last year when God healed me, hanging the Laundry out was a real achievement and I use to feel so good when I’d finished and this was the same when I washed the floors, today they are jobs that need to be done but I’m always thankful that I can do them.

    The Devil is the father of Lies, his greatest is we are not worthy to be Loved by God, we are a nothing, he is worried we will find out the opposite is True, that we are greatly Loved and God’s Priceless Treasure.

    Blog Post – http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2013/04/29/gods-priceless-treasure/

    We need each other God created us that way and we are to carry each others burdens and to cry with each other as well as rejoice together.

    God bless you now and always Cynthia – Christian Love – Anne

  5. It’s so true that it is easier to help someone else than to allow ourselves to receive the same kind of help. Is it that we think it is showing weakness and somehow that’s bad? Is it, as another commenter suggested, a form of pride? Or is it lack of experience/practice in receiving it? Definitely something to consider when facing difficult situations – thanks for sharing this glimpse of your life.

  6. Yes, those are crummy old lies aren’t they. Especially in the pit of depression where you feel like whining is just about all you ever do. I know I’ve thought those lies so many times. Wanted to be strong and self sufficient. Wanted to be the hero, who helps and ministers, not the weak and broken, not the fragile and tender and yes, needy.

  7. Not to get all holy roller (’cause I’m so not the poster child for Catholicism), but not too long ago, before my antidepressants had really kicked in, I had a bout of despair that I really thought was going to knock me out – I felt like it was killing me. Then I had the thought that this had to be the work of the evil one and felt immediately becalmed. It made total sense to me, in that awful moment, that the “voice” within was of divine origin and snapping me out of the bad guy’s clutches.

  8. Today, I went to the beachfront with my children. I found a sea shell and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.” She placed the shell to her ear and screamed. There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear. She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is totally off topic but I had to tell someone!

  9. Maybe it’s just because I’m a woman and this is how I was raised, but I have no problem comforting others. On the other hand, I’m often reluctant to ask for and receive comfort. I don’t want to be a whiner, don’t want to appear too needy, don’t want to admit I’m not self-sufficient.

What do you think?

