Five Minute Friday: Home

There's no place like home!

“There’s no place like home!”

It really didn’t hit me until after my mom died how much responsibility a woman is under to be the thermostat of the home environment. “If Momma ain’t happy, ain’t nobody happy,” couldn’t be more true.

So the fact that while I love the idea being a homemaker, I basically suck at the actual practice of it. Oh, I can vacuum and dust like I trained at Downton Abbey, but I’m not good at decorating, and if it wasn’t for Facebook, I wouldn’t send a single birthday card. Preplanning meals and cutting coupons are things I admire and long to do, but along the same lines as I admire people who work with lions at the zoo. Cool job environment, but one to be approached warily.

Maybe it’s the depression and the ADHD or something, but all the best laid housekeeping schemes in the world, all the planning calendars and color-coded file boxes I ever start end up gathering dust while I spend another week in bed with the covers pulled over my head to ward off engagement with the world.

When I played house and dolls as a child, I never once incorporated the line, “Oh, and here’s the mommy doll. She’s too sad to get up today, so the laundry will probably mildew in the washer. Yay!”

Nope. Never saw that coming.

*****5-minute-friday-1

What’s Five Minute Friday?

A blog-prompt project dreamt up by LisaJo Baker, which you can read about here. The skinny is that you spend five minutes of writing, generally unedited (I correct typos, WAY too OCD not to do that), on a prompt that she provides just after midnight via a tweet, then spread the word, and link up. Interested? Join up. Feast your eyes on today’s buffet of tasty entries by clicking on the picture to the right!

Related articles
10 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Home

  1. I so appreciate your realness in this post. Women out there need to know it isn’t always sunshine and unicorns. Life is HARD, and the only way we can lift each other up is to be real about the struggles as well as the blessings. Visiting from FMF.

  2. Pingback: Home Life | Allison's Blog

  3. My husband says, “Happy wife, happy life.” I think some things we’ve got to take on gradual rather than just try to tackle all at once. Laundry and dishes pile up everyday, and I don’t like doing them. (Who does?) But I don’t like looking at a huge pile of them at the end of the day. Thanks for the frank honesty. I’m glad I’m not the only one who forgets the laundry in the washer….I guess I just try to be the best me in the home, and that doesn’t look the same for everybody.

  4. Thank you for so bravely sharing your inner struggles. You are not alone in life not going as you pictured as a child. It can throw a lot of us major curve balls! I guess we just make the best of it when days are hard and keep soldiering on. May man blessings come your way this year and beyond.

  5. We weren’t next to each other this week, but I had to come back and find you. So glad I did. I love your clarity, reality, and the hope that still shines through. And the picture – love the picture!

  6. I have had to learn that home does not equal the best dusted place in the community. Instead if we mom’s are well inside of ourselves, our children and husband will reflect this. Now the dust collects and I spend time instead talking to my family and spending time with them – or taking that well needed nap to recharge my batteries.

  7. Oh wow…this post could have been written by me…almost.
    I too have great plans, but never seem to come to fruition. I’d love to have all the homemaking touches; decorating, cooking and such. It is just not in me, not anymore or for this particular season of life. Trained like Downton Abbey…love it, of course assuming you mean as if you were a member of the Crawley family. That would be me too.
    Anyway, I have let go of a lot of the “touches” in life I’d like to do. Once I let go, I felt better. Not to say that the desire doesn’t ever creep up; it does. It life is what it is; I am trying to say to anything perceived negative by me….”it could be worse.”

What do you think?

