Inch by Inch, it’s a Cinch!

High on a mountain of ... Dishes?But yard by yard, life is hard.

That’s a terrific saying, but I have a hard time remembering it. That’s why I tend not to do the dishes until we have almost none left in the cupboard.

I know, I know, it’s a bad habit. It’s not like we have A LOT of dishes—it’s just my daughter and I. (No need to call the Board of Health!) It’s just that I really hate to do them.

No, that’s not true. I don’t mind doing the dishes at all. What I mind is doing all the housework by myself. Sophia is working two jobs now to help pay for her upcoming semester studying abroad in Rome (if you want to contribute, see the link on the sidebar), so I’m here alone doing the laundry, the dishes, etc., etc.

And I know if I diligently kept up with everything as I am supposed to (doing the dishes after we eat, putting the laundry away after it’s done, etc., etc., etc., etc., etc., etc., etc., etc., etc., need I continue?), I wouldn’t be faced with a mountain of dishes—or even a low hill. Ditto for the laundry. How about de-crusting the carpet? Banishing the dust-bunnies?

That sink fills up fast! Guess I better get a dry towel…alas…maybe I’ll have to add a line to that saying. “Sink after sink, better pour a drink…”

2 thoughts on “Inch by Inch, it’s a Cinch!

  1. I do well with the little every day chores, dishes, laundry, litter, fresh water for the cats and watering outdoor plants, but I tend ot let the other stuff pile up until my days off work, then it’s overwhelming because there’s so much I need to do that I don’t have time to do the things I want to do.

    • Well, when it comes to watering plants, and watering pets, I’m great! I can’t even imagine not watering my plants for one day given our never-ending heat wave!

      I don’t know why I don’t like stuff like this. Our lives are made up of things like this… thought a lot about this while walking home from the dentist for a follow-up…got excited, but then promptly turned on the computer and forgot all about housework until Right This Minute!

      Guess I better hit the suds!

What do you think?

