Hummingbirds Welcome!

Female hummingbirdAt first, I thought it was a very large bee, quite close to my head! But when I looked up, there she was! A hovering hummingbird! I knew all those flowers would pay off! I’m a little sorry I haven’t put up a feeder, but I guess there’s still time. It was definitely a lady hummingbird, which only seems appropriate somehow. (Like Ladybugs, it’s hard to imagine a male!) I feel like I’ve really arrived, garden-wise.

And, on a completely unrelated note, I just helped my daughter start her own blog. See the link for è una bella città, which will be about her upcoming study abroad trip this fall to Rome!

2 thoughts on “Hummingbirds Welcome!

    • I think there’s still time to put out a feeder. I’m sure the babies are hatching now and I think the parent birds are looking for extra nourishment. Plus, I think if you do put one out, and they don’t come this year, they will next year. However, they are tiny and elusive and it’s possible that they are there and you just haven’t caught them at the right time. This is one of the very few times I’ve seen one at the apartment, and I’ve been here for years. I’m waiting for the Praying Mantis and Walking Stick population to appear. That’s the best sign, for me, that my yard is really pretty organic and natural.

What do you think?

